June 01, 2016

The 5th Bilbao International Art&Fashion awards

Last May the 20th, an international jury proclaimed the Portuguese Leonor de Assis Ferreira, the Turkish Hazal Karasah and Andrea Martinez from Bilbao as winners of the 5th BIAAF competition.

The awards ceremony of the 5th Bilbao International Art & Fashion Competition shall take place next June 16 in Bilbao (Basque Country, Spain), where the opening of an exhibition with the designs of the 33 emerging designers from around the world selected as finalists will also take place.

The jury awarded prizes to the Leonor de Assis Ferreira, from Portugal (Polimoda), for the best outfit design, to Hazal Karasah from Turkey (ArtEZ) for the best accessory design, and Andrea Martínez González from Bilbao an Inedi school student, as the best emerging Basque designer. The winners were awarded with prizes worth Eur 25,000.

On its 5th Edition, BIAAF has strengthened its jury, formed by renowned international professionals from the fashion world: Miren Arzalluz, Fashion historian, museum consultant and former curator of the Balenciaga Museum; Elisa Palomino, BA Fashion Print Pathway Leader de Central Saint Martin’s London; Erwan Camphuis, President and CEO of Cifonelli; Garbiñe Urdampilleta, Fashion designer J+G; Gianluca Longo, European Contributing Editor to W Magazine; Isabel Hormaechea, Fashion designer; Javier Alonso, Human Resources director at Loewe; Javier Barroeta, Haute Couture designer; Javier de Juana, master tailor and fashion creator; Juan Ignacio Vidarte, Global Strategy manager at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation and director of the Bilbao Guggenheim Museum, Juana Ruiz, Fashion designer J+G; Lourdes Fernández, director of the Azkuna Zentroa in Bilbao, Mercedes de Miguel, Fashion designer; Miriam Ocariz, Fashion designer;  Taru Marjamaa, Editor in chief of Elle Magazine in Finland; Ana Salán del Río, Inditex Fashion Talent Scout; Samuel Schler, Inditex Fashion Talents Scout; y Serena Castrignano, Fashion editor at Vogue Italia and Vogue Talents.

The works of the 33 emerging designers selected as finalists in the competition’s final phase  -26 for the outfit design category and 7 for the accessory design category- shall be showcased in a public exhibition from June the 16th  at Azkuna Zentroa,Bilbao: Joana Almagro (United Kingdom), Adrià Caballero (Barcelona), Rafael Juan Cameselle (Vigo), Chia-Hung Cheng (Italy), Emilia Cubillas (Bilbao), Dessy D (Indonesia), Leonor de Assis (Portugal), Sophie Diavolova (Bulgaria), Isabel Escribano (Tudela), Seo Yeon Hur (South Korea), Sarai Hurtado (Bilbao), Alexandru Ioan (Romania), Andrés Jarabo (Zaragoza), Conzen Jessica (France), Daniel Kohavi (Israel), Maria Korkeila (Finland) Amir Marc (Israel), Andrea Martinez (Bilbao), Miren Itxaso Martínez (Madrid), Nadia Montero (Gordexola), Dieu Linh Nguyen (United Kingdom), Alejandro Salas (Bilbao), Yara Skye Steffens (Germany), Natalia Xavier (León), Sara Zazo (Valladolid) and Javier Zunzunegui (Madrid). Johanna Sofia Acevedo (Italy), Javier Eijo (Pontevedra), Nadine Eismann (Germany), Hazal Karasah (Turkey), Lee Mattocks (UK), Goiuri Unanue (Orio) and Lilach Eliyahu (France).

The awards ceremony will take place next June the 16th  at Azkuna Zentroa (Bilbao), where the exhibition opening showcasing the designs of the winners and finalists will also be held. The winners of the best outfit design category and the best accessory design category will each receive each Eur 10,000, and the best Basque emerging designer shall be awarded with  Eur 5,000.

The competition, which is aimed at young designers from around the world between 18 and 35 years, counts with participants from 56 different countries, coming from the best international fashion design schools, and is the flagship of a global platform for new fashion design values.